Kind Of Blue

ImageThe colours of the rainbow have always bothered me. Well, one colour, to be specific: Indigo.

Am I the only person who feels this colour – especially the name – seems to have been shoehorned into the spectrum? Every time I see a rainbow coloured by a little kid (and I may have been guilty of having done it at some point) the colour between blue and purple violet is marked out with the dark blue crayon. Heck, look at the clip art above (that I’ve stolen from a random image search on the internet) and there’s that dark blue again. I once asked – and this is a true story, honest – my grandfather what indigo was, and he said “Dark blue with a spot of red in it”. My art teacher was quite confused when the painted rainbow I handed in had a dark blue band with red polka dots studded through it…

I suspect the only reason “Indigo” exists in the rainbow is so that we can pronounce “Vibgyor” without really tripping over our own tongues. VDBLBGYOR (Violet, Dark Blue, Light Blue, Green…) doesn’t have the same ring to it.

And besides, everyone knows that the true colour spectrum is

Black – brown – red – orange – yellow – green – blue – violet – grey – white (- gold – silver).

(BB ROY of Great Britain has a Very Good Wife aka the worst mnemonic ever made up for remember a set of words)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

